Voting Confirmation and Special Minutes of the Board of Trustees of the Manhasset Public Library April 16, 2024

Held at the Library in the Community Room on Tuesday, April 16, 2024. Session called to order at 9:30 pm.

Attendance

Board Members:

Charles Jettmar, President Judith Esterquest, Vice President Donald T. O'Brien, Financial Officer Gloria Su, Trustee William Hannan, Trustee (absent)

Maggie Gough, Director
Maria Mignano, Assistant Director
Stephanie Catlett, Secretary to the Board
BOE Officials Marguerite Krejci, Robert Rooney, Marie Starace and Bonnee Yannaco

President Charles Jettmar called the session to order and proposed the following resolutions:

RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees accepts the report of the inspectors of the election held on Wednesday, April 16, 2024 to the effect that:

On the issue of the Library Budget, the following proposition was approved by the voters with a vote of 217 in favor to 69 opposed:

Proposition #1: Library Budget – the voter approved tax levy for the fiscal year 2024-2025 will be \$5,217,650.00 which is the Library's operating budget and \$1,027,750.00 which is for the Library's debt service. Total approved budget levy is \$5,842,747.00.

RESOLVED, that the total Manhasset Public Library Tax Levy 2024-2025 of **\$5,842,747.00** is hereby provided for public library purposes for the fiscal year July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025, and shall be raised by tax upon the taxable property of the district and shall be levied for the purposes outlined in the library budget.

Motion to accept Resolution: Yes – Jettmar, Esterquest, O'Brien, Su No – none

On the issue of the election of one member to the Board of Library Trustees, Diane Klein was elected to the five-year term commencing July 1, 2024 with 194 votes.

Motion to accept Resolution: Yes – Jettmar, Esterquest, O'Brien, Su No – none

Following her election, the oath of office was administered on April 16, 2024 in the Community Room of the Manhasset Public Library. Director Maggie Gough, Assistant Director Maria Mignano and Trustees Jettmar, Esterquest, O'Brien and Su were present. Diane Klein stated: "I do solemnly swear that I will support the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution of the State of New York, and that I will faithfully discharge the duties of the office of Trustee of the Manhasset Public Library, according to the best of my ability;"

Motion by Charles Jettmar, seconded by Judith Esterquest to adjourn the meeting at 9:35 pm.

The next scheduled meeting will be on Tuesday, May 14, 2024 at 6:00 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephanie Catlett, Secretary to the Board