Voting Confirmation and Special Minutes of the Board of Trustees of the Manhasset Public Library

Held at the Library in the Community Room on Tuesday, April 18, 2023. Session called to order at 9:25 pm.

Attendance

Board Members:

Charles Jettmar, President
Judith Esterquest, Vice President
Donald T. O'Brien, Financial Officer
Gloria Su, Trustee (absent with notice)
William Hannan, Trustee (absent)

Maggie Gough, Director
Maria Mignano, Assistant Director
Stephanie Catlett, Secretary to the Board
BOE Officials Marguerite Krejci, Milton Portuguesz, Marie Starace and Bonnee Yannaco

Vice President Judith Esterquest called the session to order and proposed the following resolutions:

RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees accepts the report of the inspectors of the election held on Wednesday, April 18, 2023 to the effect that:

On the issue of the Library Budget, the following proposition was approved by the voters with a vote of 96 in favor to 40 opposed:

Proposition #1: Library Budget – the voter approved tax levy for the fiscal year 2023-2024 will be **\$4,705,058.00** which is the Library's operating budget and **\$1,023,125** which is for the Library's debt service. Total approved budget levy is **\$5,728,183.00**.

RESOLVED, that the total Manhasset Public Library Tax Levy 2023-2024 of \$5,728,183.00 is hereby provided for public library purposes for the fiscal year July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024, and shall be raised by tax upon the taxable property of the district and shall be levied for the purposes outlined in the library budget.

Motion to accept Resolution: Yes – Jettmar, Esterquest, O'Brien No – none

On the issue of the election of one member to the Board of Library Trustees, Charles Jettmar was elected to the five-year term commencing July 1, 2023 with 104 votes.

Motion to accept Resolution: Yes – Jettmar, Esterquest, O'Brien No – none

Motion by Judith Esterquest, seconded by Charles Jettmar to adjourn the meeting at 9:35 pm.

The next scheduled meeting will be on Wednesday, June 28, 2023 at 7:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephanie Catlett, Secretary to the Board